Class: Striking and MMA

Posted on

I’m still sore as I write this. Last night we worked on strikes and then progressed to stand-up exchanges before taking our sparring partners to the mat. I haven’t boxed in years and I forgot how tough continuously throwing punches is.

We worked on parrying a jab and a right cross and then countering it with our own right cross.  Then we worked on blocking the left jab and right cross with our hands, using our elbow to stop the left hook that follows and then countering with a left to the body.

I picked up on it pretty quick since I used to box, but my back muscles started to ‘spaz’ about halfway through and I had to keep working through it.

Of course, I was working with Big “J” so there is about a 4-6 inch height difference. After a while we sparred a little standing up and I could immediately tell the difference between boxing and MMA. When I used to box, I would double up or triple up on the jab to back up my opponent or to confuse him. Well, Big J (who does train MMA) would walk towards my jabs (we weren’t going full force though). It reminded me of announcers in MMA who say that those guys will eat jabs so they can get a takedown or knockout punch…

Although I felt confident of my stand-up, I could see that in a real match I would be in trouble because my stamina for striking is non-existent. I had no trouble breathing, but had no fuel for the muscles.

When we went to the ground I was also a fish out of water because I was thinking that I was still doing BJJ and not MMA. They were telling me to cover up and don’t forget that I could hit him too. Although I do not want to train MMA, I don’t like the fact that I was so green at it. It was a whole new set of rules with the gloves on down there and having the ability to strike and be struck. I am also tired of gassing so I am going to change my training regimen. Today I lifted weights and worked out on treadmill as a part of a circuit training regimen…..

3 thoughts on “Class: Striking and MMA

    […] Original post by Jiu-jitsu 365 […]

    crosschoke said:
    January 18, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Ouch! That sounds like a grueling class. I’m sort of interested in MMA training but it’s been a long time since I’ve been punched in the face. Maybe I’ll stick with BJJ.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    January 18, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Yeah, it was fun for one night, but I don’t want to make it a habit.

    The conditioning would be useful though…

Leave a Reply

