60 Days in……Jiu-Jitsu 365

Posted on Updated on

Actually it is the 64th day….. and it’s time to evaluate what I have accomplished in this time period.

Well, I have continued to do Jiu-Jitsu everyday whether in class or own my own. My rule of practicing a minimum of 30 techniques per day has not changed. At times I do more than that (other times the bare minimum) but I don’t count past 30. Therefore my official number of repetitions is 1,920.

How does this translate to my training in class?

I am able to achieve a butterfly sweep at least once or twice every practice. Usually after I do it, my rolling partner will become wary of it and try to avoid it at all costs. My agility has increased and I am able to obtain  and hold dominant positions with greater ease. My ability to receive and implement instruction continues to improve. I have become more active when mounted and I am very active in my guard, although this has led to my guard  being passed more frequently since I am always attempting new things.

As far as my ability to submit people, my rear naked choke technique has grown by leaps and bounds as I have been able to obtain the choke at a greater rate and have learned how to lock in the choke with one arm. My ability to pull off the triangle has decreased and everytime I try to lock it in my opponent passes my guard. I believe it is because I have stopped trying to control the wrists of my opponent before locking it in, but I will work on it.

As far as the blog is concerned I have had a record of 145 visitors in one day and average around 70 per day. So I thank everyone who visits and adds to the discussions. Knowing that you guys are watching my progress keeps me motivated.

For the next 30 days I want to continue working on gaining positional dominance and I want to add knee on belly as a part of my game…..

3 thoughts on “60 Days in……Jiu-Jitsu 365

    christinasears said:
    January 17, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    I find chokes so effective.. especially for me becuase i’m 105lbs.. and usually fighting heavy weight due to there being no one in my weight.. I mean i love other tecniques like arm bar and kamura, and what not BUT if i want to get the job done they have NO WHERE to o when a choke is applied… where as an arm lock or le lock or somethign depending on the sweat they may be able to slip out… 🙂

    nice to read about ur training 🙂
    Christina

    JiuJitsu365 said:
    January 17, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Thanks Christina,

    I think you’re right. It is one of hardest techniques to counter when it is sunk in…..

    Working on Knee on Belly….. « Jiu-jitsu 365 said:
    January 21, 2008 at 8:16 am

    […] stated in my 60 day review that I would be focusing on positional dominance the next 30 days. More specifically, knee on belly. […]

Leave a Reply

