Fight Quest on the Discovery Channel

Posted on Updated on

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

I finally watched Fight Quest on the Discovery Channel. I have to admit it is an exact knock off of Human Weapon. However, that doesn’t mean I won’t watch it. The episode I watched turned out to be just as good.The only drawback is that one of the guys, Doug, is tough but whines a little too much for my taste.

The episode that I watched was on Kyokushin Karate and it once again reminded me of the practicality of the martial art when people train with combat in mind. This is as realistic as you can get without hitting each someone in the head with fists and takedowns. Knees, kicks and punches are legal. I was heavy into Mas Oyama’s Okinawan Karate when growing up and it was practical then so I will always be nostalgic for this type of stuff….

7 thoughts on “Fight Quest on the Discovery Channel

    crosschoke said:
    January 16, 2008 at 10:11 am

    I watched this same episode and it is indeed very similar to Human Weapon. I notice that the two guys are separated during the training portion which is a welcome change from HW. I’m looking forward to more shows. I can’t believe how hard the Kyokushin guys were pounding on each other!

    Steve said:
    January 16, 2008 at 10:42 am

    Most Kyokushin dojos I’ve seen or heard about are no joke. Those guys are tough.

    I haven’t seen this show yet, but I’ve heard good things. I guess the matches at the end are a bit more brutal than those on Human Weapon.

    The FightWorks Podcast said:
    January 16, 2008 at 11:18 am

    Yeah I can’t wait for the episode on BJJ. The hosts in Brazil are going to be Rickson Gracie and Breno Sivak and they will train out of Gracia Humaita.

    If you hear in advance when they will air that episode, let me know! 🙂

    Caleb

    JiuJitsu365 said:
    January 16, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    Yeah Steve,

    These guys seem to be getting treated worse than the guys from Human Weapon…

    Although it was harder to bully big Bill Duff. Jason Chambers was tough too so that may be the difference.

    JiuJitsu365 said:
    January 16, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Caleb,

    I sure will…..

    jiujitsu365 said:
    January 16, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Caleb

    ..and for those who want to know the date of the Fight Quest BJJ Episode:

    BRAZILIAN JIU-JITSU
    Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Masters: Breno Sivak, Renato Barreto
    Features: Grappling
    Premiere: Feb. 15, 2008

    Tay said:
    September 24, 2008 at 11:35 am

    Hey Guys!
    Discovery Channel is showing two NEW episodes this Friday night (9/23)! Fight Quest: Thailand is on Friday night at 9PM and Fight Quest: India is on at 10PM. They’re also showing repeats on Wednesdays during the day at 12pm and 1pm.

Leave a comment