Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: More on Belt Ranking

Posted on Updated on

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

After discussing the gi or No-gi issue, I started to really think about where I am in my development. Although my practice of BJJ has been on and off, I have been practicing it or have been very close to BJJ since April 2004. If there was a gap in time that I was not participating I was still watching video, reading books, magazines, etc…

Well, last night I just happened to think about a book I purchased a few years ago written by Renzo and Royler Gracie and edited, of course, by Kid Peligro. It is titled Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: Theory and Technique. In it they provide what they believe are the essential skills required for each rank. In the beginning of the book it has a nice section on the philisophical aspect of BJJ and discusses its benefits.

Then it breaks down each belt by presenting techniques and skills that each rank should have mastered; blue, purple, brown and black. I went through the book and was surprised to find out that I am exactly where I thought I was in my development. As I leafed through the book it quickly became apparent when I was beyond my skill set.

The book discusses the informal aspect involved in judging ranks and yet at the same time analyzes the “conservatism” involved in awarding rank. Therefore, I won’t mention at what level I believe I am currently ranked. I will leave that to my instructors. However, the book is very useful and I realized how much I used it and others when I first began training.

Oh yeah! I believe I mispoke about the rank of my instructor(s) when I discussed the issue of gi vs. no-gi. My instructor runs two academies and the instructors hold black belts in a number of disciplines. The main instructor also has quite a reputation in MMA circles and has developed a number of fighters that MMA fans would be aware of. Since we are always no-gi I never asked about the BJJ ranking. After doing a little research I discovered that my main instructor holds quite a high rank. As the information is dated, I will have to ask if that has changed. I am hesistant because I don’t want to be rude, but I would also like to begin to earn rank if possible.

Leave a Reply

