Finishing the Darce Choke….

Posted on Updated on

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

Often when grappling, I end up in a position where I am above the person I am rolling with because of a sprawl or because I have been able to pull them down. Usually the person is on both knees and they are resting on their forearms or both hands.

Ever since I saw Rodrigo Nogueira clinch an Anaconda choke on Heath Herring on a PRIDE dvd a few years ago, I have been trying to sink in chokes from this position.

I think I have achieved it once….

I am often able to get this top position and I am often surprised how often people leave themselves open for these types of chokes. But that doesn’t help if I can’t close the deal. After my last failed attempt to sink in a darce choke on an opponent I referred back to the Submissions 101 video clip that I had been using as a reference tool. I noticed that the top guy was at a 45 degree angle when he inserted his arm for the choke, which made it easier for him to lock it in. I always tried to attempt the choke while in a parallel position over my opponent. Next time I grapple I will try it out to see if that was my problem…..

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Tapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

Leave a Reply

