Approaching BJJ Clubs in a Strange City

Posted on Updated on

Since I will be traveling this holiday season, I will be in two different cities where there are quite a few BJJ academies (Jacksonville and Miami, FL). I have never been to gyms outside of cities that I have lived in or that were close by.

If you have trained in other places while visiting a city, how did you go about it? Did you call first or just show up? Did you tell them you just wanted to train for a day, etc?

If you own or instruct at an academy, how have you handled out of town visitors?

2 thoughts on “Approaching BJJ Clubs in a Strange City

    tk said:
    December 22, 2007 at 9:10 am

    When I started working in LA I called Hollywood BJJ first and asked if they would let me work out with them for a few days. They were very hospitable and I ended up working out there quite regularly. I’m glad I called first because they knew who I was when I showed up and I didn’t have to go through introductions while everybody was gearing up for class.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    December 22, 2007 at 9:34 am

    I think that’s good advice. I just called Jax BJJ this morning in Jacksonville (they don’t open until 10 though) to see if I could drop by with my brother and his two nephews. It would be a good idea if they knew that we were coming in advance.

Leave a Reply

