Chokes Save the Day

Posted on Updated on

One thing that really impressed me during the WEC event this week was the use of chokes. Jens Pulver pulled off a nice choke on Cub Swanson and Urijah Faber locked in a solid choke against Jeff Curan.

Swanson did the ill advised lunge before properly setting up for a takedown. Probably because he was in awe of Pulver’s standup. From there he found himself in a vicious submission. Faber was more innovative with his and I still can’t remember how he achieved it. I will have to go back and watch the fight again.

However, here is a video of a slick manuever that allows you to achieve a Brabo choke on someone while laying on your back. Compliments of Jeff Glover…

2 thoughts on “Chokes Save the Day

    justyouraverageguy said:
    December 16, 2007 at 10:36 am

    I was shocked at how fast Jens pulled this off. I forgot he was ground skills and was impressed with his speed at laying in the sub. Cub did help Jens out with some sort of shoot/lunge thing that put him in a shitty posistion.

    I am looking foward to seeing Faber vs Pulver. Should be a barn burner.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    December 16, 2007 at 11:10 am

    Yeah, I have to admit that I was amazed by Jens. However, I think Faber may be a little more than Jens can handle.

    We’ll see…..

Leave a Reply

