TUF Finale: Mismatches and Six Figure Contracts

Posted on Updated on

Hey, fights are fights and it was on free TV, if you discount the fees that I pay for my cable service. However, many of the fights were mismatches, especially the fight between Speers and Danzig. But, I am glad Danzig won because I believes he deserves it and also because I do not like to see lucky victories. (Even though luck or the “puncher’s chance” is what makes fights exciting.) I can remember seeing Danzig toughing it out in King of the Cage.

For a lot of these guys, The Ultimate Fighter show and TUF Finale ruins their chance for a solid career in the short term, because they lose on the show and then they lose at the TUF finale. Barrera,  Kolosci and Hightower are all game fighters but they racked up a number of losses that they may not recover from. It was obvious that all three needed some further development before coming back to fight. 

The Warpath and J-Roc fight was awesome and the Guida and Huerta fight was on another level. I also liked how Hightower handled himself before he gassed..

I was irritated with the term six figure contract and I am tired of hearing it. Those fighters are getting cheated and are being locked into ridiculous long term contracts that don’t benefit them when they win and popularity increases further.

Overall, it was enjoyable to watch….. 

2 thoughts on “TUF Finale: Mismatches and Six Figure Contracts

    Steve said:
    December 9, 2007 at 5:26 pm

    First, regarding fighter contracts and that, I’m with you 100%. Fighters should be contracted more along the lines of the boxing model. Signing fighters to a promotion is ridiculous and bad for the sport and for the fighters.

    The only possible exception is the IFL model, where fighters are on teams, receive paychecks and health benefits. I’m for this, too, if only it was commercially viable. As it is, I’d be surprised if the IFL makes it more than 1 or 2 more years.

    As for the TUF finale last night, some good fights. War Machine’s finish was impressive. I don’t know where he got the gas to reverse and finish.

    And Danzig didn’t seem like as much of a jerk as he did on the show. Clearly, he was the best fighter in the house and I’m glad the better man won.

    I was also impressed with both Arroyo’s and… damn… the guy who trains with American Top Team and looks like Ross from Friends. Anyway, both of those guys had terrific jiu-jitsu.

    The Guida/Huerta fight was awesome. The pace was fantastic.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    December 10, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    I agree….

    Every time I hear about how fighters are paid in the UFC, I cringe…. Many of these guys have college degrees and can make the amount of money they make in fights ($3000 to $7000) in a month or two at a regular job. The other guys that are getting the bigger paydays, such as $20,000 to $30,000 have to spend most of it on their team, gym fees, etc. Keith Jardine was robbed (only $14,000 for his victory of Liddell.)

Leave a Reply

