Dr. 90210 (Rey) Earns a Blue Belt

Posted on Updated on

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

While checking out Sha’s Grappling Log yesterday I noticed that it listed video sources for learning submission techniques. When I checked out one of the sources it turned out to be a Gracie Academy Channel on YouTube. Front and center was a big picture of Dr. Rey from the cosmetic procedure show Dr. 90210. The title of it was Dr. Rey’s Blue Belt Test.

Periodically, I checked out the show and followed his progress when he was taking Tae Kwon Do. Everytime I saw him perform some move I thought to myself this guy is going to get himself hurt. On one show he visited the Gracie Academy and wanted to try out his technique on them and of course had his behind handed to him. That is the last time I saw the show.

So imagine my surprise when I saw his face on the channel and the word Blue Belt (especially after six months). I have to admit I felt a twinge of jealously. I have been taking Jiu-jitsu for over two years now and I don’t have any belt. One of the reasons is that the places that are available for me to train in are no-gi. So that is a barrier. In addition, the gi itself plays a role in determining your level in earning belts for most academies. No – gi = No belt for me.

However, after my initial shock and a minute or so into the video I became happy for the guy.  I even felt a little warm on the inside. I will be in a city one day (soon) that offers BJJ with the gi and that has opportunities for people to train 5 to 7 days a week if they wish. So I will have my own moment to bask in earning a blue belt as well.

4 thoughts on “Dr. 90210 (Rey) Earns a Blue Belt

    Walter said:
    February 15, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    That was not a real BJJ blue belt test. Shame on the Gracies for GIVING him that belt, as he did not earn it.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    February 15, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    I wondered about the time frame on the belt as well. However, he seems like a pretty disciplined fellow, so he probably has put in a lot of time.

    The mat always tells the truth….

    Danjitsu said:
    December 25, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    While he did show some of the rudimentary skills required for obtaining a blue belt, that test was a farce. I got my blue belt from Professor Pedro Sauer (7th degree under Helio) and our test was almost 2 hours and looked nothing like that set up for the show. The inane comments of his wife where rather pathetic as well. No wonder I have never watched that show.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    December 26, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Danjitsu,

    It was rather sketchy and perhaps it was more for the TV than anything else. Yet, I have seen some other videos that seems to suggest that he has continued his training. I think what he probably lacks more than anything else is a diverse group of people to train with. His lifestyle seems to suggest that he only takes private sessions. However, with BJJ, inevitably you want to test it out with other grapplers. He is a pretty big guy and seems committed to whatever he takes on so who knows where his skill level may be?

Leave a Reply

