Jiu Jitsu, Flying Submissions and MMA

Posted on Updated on

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

I was reading a guy’s blog (http://e5media.com/archives/), detailing his Jiu-jitsu exploits, yesterday and it had a neat little video where a guy in a jiu-jitsu tournament tossed his opponent up into the air from an open guard, twisted him mid-flight and sunk in an armbar when he landed. I followed one of the links to the jiu-jitsu club, ACC, and they had more of the same type of fantastic movements.

While reading the November issue of Ultimate Grappling magazine last night I ran across an article where the author asserted that fancy Jiu-Jitsu moves will get you hurt in MMA. I don’t know if I agree. I have watched thousands of MMA fights (KOTC has at least 3 DVD sets with over 100 fights in each one and I have seen them all plus many other shows) and I have seen some pretty slick moves from MMA fighters.

I think that if you are sloppy and careless, flashy Jiu-jitsu or grappling moves can leave you with a loss on your record. However, if certain moves are applied at the proper moment and you have had positive results in practice with them, I think flashy moves can work.

For example, how many times have you seen someone get ‘Superman’ punched?  That punch should never work, but it does…

2 thoughts on “Jiu Jitsu, Flying Submissions and MMA

    ekspekt said:
    June 30, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    interesting post, will come back here, bookmarked your site

    jiujitsu365 said:
    July 7, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Thanks ekspekt,

    I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

