What’s Better; Repetition or Always Changing it Up?

Posted on Updated on

While performing my solo drills I began to think about how many Jiu-Jitsu and submission grappling classes are run. From my experiences I have observed that many classes start with a warm-up of varying length, a drill session and then some sparring to work on those drills. Of course, every academy is different. But from my experiences or from those I have heard from others, hardly any schools cover the same type of drills repeatedly.

Many people have covered this issue extensively but I am not convinced either way. I appreciate the diversity from learning so many different submissions and positions. I also like it when I am able to nail a technique through repeated practice.

In my new approach of (daily) drilling techniques, like escapes from the mount, I have found that I have become more effective against live opponents. In a sense I have broken through a plateau but I wouldn’t rush to say one way is better than the other?

Any thoughts out there? 

  

2 thoughts on “What’s Better; Repetition or Always Changing it Up?

    Vee said:
    December 3, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Personally I think repetition works best. Repetition is the mother of mastery. Certain techniques will become automatic that they will not require thought, it is something that you simply recognize and execute.

    Definitely do not ignore new skills. I would imagine that mastering mount escapes from any position would be a great asset.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    December 3, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    I would agree. When I took Judo we routinely practiced certain throws each practice. There was a basic set that we had to master in order to be effective.

    To this day, I am still able to pull off many of those throws without thinking..

Leave a Reply

