Flexibility, Tapouts and Submissions

Posted on Updated on

I am still concentrating on mount escapes as Houston Alexander’s and Thiago Silva’s fight in UFC 78 is still present in my consciousness. While watching the above video and practicing the movements I also thought about flexibility and the role it plays in the ground game.

Quite often, I get in a sticky situation when grappling and attempt a move that requires flexibility. Perhaps I’m mounted and I want to roll back and use my legs to remove my sparring partner; a guy in my guard plants his hand on the mat and I spin for an omoplata or just some other general move that requires hip flexibility. Sometimes, I am unable to pull these moves off because I have reached the limits of my flexibility.

I know that there is an entire set of submissions that I could pull off but lack the flexibility to do so. This video reminded me of this and increasing my flexibility has moved to the top of my list.

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

3 thoughts on “Flexibility, Tapouts and Submissions

    Asa said:
    November 28, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    Might I suggest this book by Thomas Kurz? I’ve only read the second or third edition, but the content is good. Many people have their minds blown after reading it, and it’s done wonders for me.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    November 29, 2007 at 12:48 am

    Thanks, I’ll look into it….

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Nathan, Wayne Vinson II. Wayne Vinson II said: RT @tdatraining: Flexibility, Tapouts and Submissions http://bit.ly/g5lOW2 […]

Leave a Reply

