Houston Alexander: Mount Escapes-Training Log

Posted on Updated on

After watching Houston Alexander and Silva fight last night, I saw the light.  Cringing inside as I watched a dominant fighter succumb to punches from the mount led me to think about my own mount defense.

So to bolster my defense I practiced mount escape drills and will incorporate it more often in my training. For the past few days I also have been drilling butterfly guard. I hope I can use it in class on Tuesday. I have been trying to use it in class lately and have been getting stuffed pretty quickly.

Oh yeah, I found a track about a mile from my house this week. So this morning I went up there; stretched, jogged/walked a mile and then ran sprints on the football field.

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

2 thoughts on “Houston Alexander: Mount Escapes-Training Log

    Jeremy said:
    September 18, 2008 at 8:54 am

    You’re not supposed to grab clothes in mma

    jiujitsu365 said:
    September 23, 2008 at 6:36 am

    Of course you have to modify techniques according to whatever style of martial art or grappling you practice (gi, no-gi, MMA, etc.) I put this up for grapplers and anyone else who visits the site.

Leave a Reply

