My Jiu-Jitsu Gym Bag

Posted on Updated on

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

Well if I am going to do this then I need to be prepared. Usually when I go to my grappling class (no-gi) I usually have the following items; mouth guard, bottles of water, sandals, watch, and a beanie (for when it’s cold). I can’t carry much more because when I’m there I put it all over the floor.

I have to do better.

So on my birthday, I bought a gym bag so I can carry all my goods. It’s a cheap sports bag that I picked up from Wal-mart for $9.82, minus the tax. It has an ample sized middle space, a water bottle pouch, an inside sleeve for my iPod or cell phone, a wet shoe bag pouch and a front zipper section that can hold my mouth guard and another side section to store miscellaneous goods. It also has a carrying strap.

Well, what have I put in my new Jiu-jitsu Gym Bag so far? Judo gi-top and Green Belt (I wear gi pants in class and some of the other guys wear gi’s even though is a no-gi school), my mouth piece,  an extra beanie and that’s it. Sorry….

Now that I think about it, I am going to add my jump rope, band-aids (I ripped some skin off my big toe on the new mats they just put in) and some sports tape in there.

8 thoughts on “My Jiu-Jitsu Gym Bag

    brainclutter said:
    November 17, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    Hola! I’m also suffering from a big toe wound due to mat burn! The thing was about 1.5cm long and wide and still hasn’t healed fully after a few weeks. I keep taping it up in my classes and things seem to be working fine! 🙂

    In my bag:

    > mouthguard
    > gi top and pants (HCK)
    > rash guard (long sleeve – RBK)
    > water bottle

    I used to wear shorts in non-gi grappling but I’ve decided to try using my gi pants for a while to see if it will help me with technique (less slippage and more grippage!). I did ask for a new Koral rash guard and grappling shorts this Christmas though, just for kicks.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    November 17, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    Yeah, the gi pants have helped me tremendously when trying to establish a half-guard for a reversal or for a lockdown (Eddie Bravo style). A lot of the bigger guys sweat so much it’s hard to clamp their legs down without them.

    slideyfoot said:
    December 9, 2007 at 12:02 am

    Bizarre that some of the guys in a nogi class still wear their gi – does that mean people avoid gripping the fabric? Can’t see the reasoning behind wearing the wrong stuff: why not a t-shirt and gi pants?

    jiujitsu365 said:
    December 9, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    In both of the places that I have trained we have had a lot of guys that have trained in places where they used the gi. They don’t want to lose their ‘gi skills’ so a lot of times we will work together after class or get the permission of the instructor to wear a gi.

    I keep my judo gi top with me for that purpose. I want to eventually train in an academy with a gi so I can go for black belt. I don’t want to have to start learning how to use the gi from scratch…..

    Jiu-Jitsu Travel Pack « Jiu-jitsu 365 said:
    December 20, 2007 at 8:56 am

    […] Posts Podcasts I Listen to: A Jiu-Jitsu LifestyleSolo Drills Improved my Jiu-Jitsu GameMy Jiu-Jitsu Gym BagAbout MeSharing Jiu-Jitsu and MMA VidsTraining LogGetting up from the GroundAliveness 101: Very […]

    dave said:
    December 21, 2007 at 11:28 am

    My jiu-Jistu gym bag – a reebok backpack i got for free at a place i used to work.

    if i go out of town to train i bring:

    – my Gi – Atama blue hot-weather Gi ( or my HCK if it’s cold)
    – my mouthpiece
    – Cup
    -rashguard ( a cheap everlast one i have had for a while)
    -board shorts – either my atama board shorts or my corona ones with the strings cut off
    -My Zune and earbuds
    -Flip Flops
    -water bottle and tape
    -passing the guard book (Ed Beneville)

    if i’m in town training, i just use a small backpack and
    put in:
    water bottle
    flip flops
    mouthpiece
    cup ( depends on whether i roll or not, i ususally don’t wear a cup when drilling or learning technique)
    i ususally have my Gi on before i get to class.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    December 22, 2007 at 9:14 am

    It seems like you have it covered Dave….

    Mervin said:
    May 13, 2015 at 12:07 pm

    Very shortly this web site will be famous among all blog visitors, due
    to it’s pleasant posts

Leave a Reply

