2nd Stripe Blue and Extra Sensory Perception

Posted on Updated on

Check out my books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling  and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

Class started off as usual today. We were going through drills (from side control) and then our Prof. called for a break and told us, “Get water guys!”

As we headed off in different directions he went up to the front counter and started pulling up tape. Long story short, I received a stripe. He told me that I had been working hard all summer and really improved my game. So now I am a second stripe blue.

Cool!

(I didn’t blog this but I had a dream on Monday that I was getting promoted. The major difference is that he called me into his office and told me he was going to promote me after an event on Saturday. He also gave me a ribbon and a medal instead of a stripe or belt. I woke up that morning and told my wife that I was going to get promoted.)

Luigi also received a stripe on his blue belt (to 4 stripe blue).

Seth and Brian received a stripe on their purple belts (to one stripe purple).

Congrats to all and time to get back to the grind.

5 thoughts on “2nd Stripe Blue and Extra Sensory Perception

    The Blogsphere Report - People August 2011 said:
    August 25, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    [...] to Bakari of Jiu Jitsu 365 for earning a second stripe on his blue [...]

    Giddy said:
    August 25, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    Congrats Jiujitsu365!

    It’s a long road but you are hanging in there!

    zegrapplez said:
    August 26, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    congrats, got my first stripe awhile back. nothing like feeling like a kid who is super excited about that piece of athletic tape.

    Jiujitsu365 said:
    August 26, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    Thanks Giddy,

    It has been a long road, but I am enjoying the ride.

    Jiujitsu365 said:
    August 26, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    Zegrapplez,

    I appreciate it! Yeah, it’s amazing how much stock we put in stripes and belts. Maybe because so much goes into earning them.

Leave a Reply

