Summer of Jiu-Jitsu – (Now that’s what’s up!)

Posted on Updated on

Check out my other blog: Psychology of Jiu-Jitsu

From mid-January through through April I was able to attend one class per week (plus two extra during spring break). So I racked up 16 visits in four months. I had a very busy schedule this semester (lecturing, meetings, committees, writing, research, etc.,) but my goal was to maintain a presence and I figured once a week would keep me honest and let people at my new school know that I am serious about BJJ.

The past three weeks I have been attending twice a week and hopefully this week I can up attendance to three or more times a week. I have the next 3 1/2 months off so you know what that means.

The SUMMER of JIU-JITSU has officially begun.

I am really enjoying training at my new academy. The majority of guys and gals that I train with are purple and brown belts. There are also a smattering of Blues and a couple of senior level white belts that swing through every now and then. I also get to roll with a couple of Black Belts periodically.

What does this mean for my game? Well, it feels as if I am having a private session every time I grapple with someone. These guys are immediately able to point out an issue in my game and then give me options (not an option) on how I can correct it. It is funny too that day to day it is difficult to see progression, but I had an epiphany the other day. I remembered when as a blue belt I had an extremely hard time passing other blue belt’s guards. Yet now I am able to regularly pass Purple belt’s guards and sometimes Brown belt’s guards and passing Blue belt’s guard is no longer an issue. I could not have done that a year ago.

The guys at my new academy regularly tool me (that didn’t sound right) but at the same time I know I am improving. It is difficult for me to gauge my progress against White belts because I hold back and let them work their game. With the big belts it’s the opposite (even though I know they let me work my game a little as well).

Anyway, I am looking to put a lot of time in this summer.

Peace!

Check out my latest book, A Vampire on the Mat at AmazonBarnes & Nobles or Smashwords 

and

My books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling  and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!

2 thoughts on “Summer of Jiu-Jitsu – (Now that’s what’s up!)

    jldude said:
    June 8, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    hey, just stopped by to say i really enjoy your blog. BJJ blogs are time travel for me. I’ve read several similar blogs from beginning to end.

    I am currently meeting/reading you (circa. Dec. 2008).

    jiujitsu365 said:
    June 9, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    Thanks Jidude,

    I’m glad you stopped by.

    I went back and read some of my posts in December. It is interesting to see my state of mind at that time.

Leave a Reply

