Day: May 31, 2009

Last Class – Points and Submissions

Posted on Updated on

Last Thursday’s class was all about working from different positions. After the warm-up we took turns holding guard, being placed in side control, the mount and being mounted from the back. The person in the defensive position had to work their way out or reverse their partner while the person on top went for the submission.

This class was geared more toward competition. Ryan, one of the instructors and a purple belt, talked about the importance of being able to escape positions and to score points in a match especially if you become aware that the person may be better at BJJ. I know that goes against some of the purists ideas on competition and the reason for BJJ but from a competition viewpoint I can see the logic. 

After about 40 minutes of this type of sparring the call went out for rolling. I opted out as I was seeing stars. I am feeling the effects of gaps in practice. Since my promotion to Blue Belt I have only been to class 10 times in 3 months. Five or so weeks were due to my knee being injured and other times due to my writing and other professional commitments. I don’t skimp when it comes to BJJ and I go when my schedule permits but I hate being the guy that shows up every once in a while. I do know that I don’t want to join the Blue Belt Hall of Fame.

I guess I just have to reminding myself that it’s a journey for me and not a race.