BJJ Study Continues – More participants needed!

Posted on Updated on

As many of you know, I serve in a professional capacity as a professor. I am also an avid BJJ practicioner so my interests in academics and BJJ often merge. My first project was an exploratory study on Ground Fighting where I tried to get a sense of how many “real fights” actually go to the ground. My findings were published in Black Belt Magazine’s 2008 issue (September). You can review some of my findings here: Do Most Fights Go to the Ground?

Since last year (October 2008) I have been conducting a study on BJJ and other submission grapplers. I am studying people’s initial experience in the BJJ (or grappling) world as well as insights and other key experiences they wish to share. The response so far has been great. I have had all belt levels respond as well as practitioners from all over the world.

I am still looking for a lot more people to fill out the short questionnaire. If you are interested contact me (Bakari) at bakil@fccj.edu. Please place BJJ Study in the subject line so I can give send it as quickly as possible.

Thanks!

3 thoughts on “BJJ Study Continues – More participants needed!

    jiujitsu365 said:
    April 6, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Thanks Slidey,

    I heard about it on the Fightworks Podcast.

    neijia said:
    April 6, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    I can volunteer to participate, although BJJ is really a side art for me, so not sure that helps your survey.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    April 6, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    Neijia,

    That is fine. Everyone’s experience is welcome. Other grapplers are welcome to participate as well. I believe you said you also studied Judo.

    Thanks,

    Bakari

Leave a Reply

