Fight Quest: My Addiction to BJJ is Ridiculous

Posted on Updated on

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

I am sitting here blogging while watching Fight Quest and I’m thinking about how hooked I am to BJJ. I wish this episode could last for 3 hours or more. I’m envious of the total immersion lifestyle. I guess it’s the grass is greener syndrome.

Eventually, in the United States, we will have the level of interest that exists in Brazil and those who wish to make it a greater part of their lifestyle will be able to do so with minimal effort.

There also seemed to be more high level belts than lower level where they were training. It almost felt like I was watching someone attend a Jiu-jitsu resort.

The training probably seems really tough to someone who has never experienced or seen it before. Especially with Doug getting choked out and Jimmy getting his elbow hyper-extended by the over anxious purple belt. Yet, to me it is one of the safest martial arts or ‘sports’ I have ever participated in.

Oh yeah… I think Doug spazzed out a little when he had his actual fight. I think he reverted to the “animal ferocity” he is always talking about in order to gain points. I think they cheated him of that last round too.

7 thoughts on “Fight Quest: My Addiction to BJJ is Ridiculous

    Steve said:
    February 15, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    I can’t wait… doesn’t come on here for another hour!

    I consider myself lucky to have a very active black belt who teaches us and rolls with us. I can’t imagine what it would be like to have 10 of him in our club. But that’s what it’s like in placed down in Brazil: clubs with 10 or even 20 black belts all kicking your ass! :)

    jiujitsu365 said:
    February 16, 2008 at 12:16 am

    It was a really good show. With that many black belts, the term ‘learning through osmosis’ takes on an entirely different definition.

    Sorry about the spoiler though. I forgot about you guys on the west coast.

    chew-jitsu said:
    February 17, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Just found your blog. Good stuff here. I am finally putting my jiu-jitsu addiction into a blog as well.

    That was a pretty good show. Just the place where they were actually sparring was incredible.

    Keep up the good work

    jiujitsu365 said:
    February 18, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Thanks chew-jitsu and welcome to the ranks of BJJ/MMA bloggers….

    I have to admit that “FightQuest” has done a good job!

    supercrap said:
    February 20, 2008 at 8:25 am

    It was a good episode. The level of training in Brazil looks to be off the charts… just small things that really add up to better BJJers. I particularly liked the no handed armbar drill, that was sweet.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    February 20, 2008 at 11:59 am

    Definitely, their training “is off the charts. ”

    They even found a way of incorporating going to the beach and practicing BJJ.

    Tay said:
    September 24, 2008 at 11:31 am

    Hey Guys!
    Discovery Channel is showing two NEW episodes this Friday night (9/23)! Fight Quest: Thailand is on Friday night at 9PM and Fight Quest: India is on at 10PM. They’re also showing repeats on Wednesdays during the day at 12pm and 1pm.

Leave a Reply

