Day: December 26, 2007

More on the Kettlebell and Jiu-jitsu

Posted on Updated on

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

As I mentioned previously, I bought a kettlebell made by Everlast. I didn’t mention that I also ‘threw” my shoulder joint a little out of whack by taking it and hoisting it in the air before learning how to use it properly.

So I have taken the time to view the exercise DVD they included as well as some videos online with people demonstrating the proper way to use the kettlebell.

On the back of the box that it came in, the experts state that by using the kettlebell the user can “develop total body strength, power and endurance.  Kettle weights (also) work the body across a wide range of angles and increases your dynamic flexibility.” This should fit well into my Jiu-jitsu training.

Above is a video demonstrating an exercise that can be done with the kettlebell. Jiu-jitsu and grappling guys can always put a new twist on something…..