Day: December 23, 2007

Kettlebells, Family, Shopping and Jiu-Jitsu

Posted on Updated on

Friday was a hectic and long day. I didn’t do my drills early in the morning, like I first planned, so I had to squeeze them in at 11:30 PM. It was hard to do anything as I was fulfilling requests from family members and visiting with them at the same time.

While out buying gifts with my wife and sister at TJ Maxx, I noticed that they had a 10lb Everlast Kettlebell mixed in with their electronic gifts. It was very ‘random’ but I took it as a sign and decided to purchase it. So I have joined the kettlebell craze that I have been observing as of late. To be honest though, even though it is 10 pounds, it feels like twenty. It must be because it is so compact. (It looks like a shot put with a handle on it for those who don’t know.) The guy at the cash register picked it up and with a crazed look in his eyes said, “This will do the trick won’t it.” I had to reluctantly agree.

Later that night, I asked my brother if he and my nephews wanted to go to Jax BJJ with me and after asking the kids he agreed. After reading some of the posts at Steve’s BJJ log and Foos-jitsu about their brothers also participating in BJJ, I thought, “Why not ask my brother?”

I think BJJ and grappling is not only fun, but it also relieves stress, has many health benefits and if ‘push comes to shove,’ it can be used for self-defense. Not a bad combination. Plus, one of his sons is a phenom in martial art potential, if you ask me. He could do splits by age 6 and has off the wall physical ability. I think he would love Jiu-jitsu.

I’ll post what happens in our adventure….

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!