Solo Exercises – Over the Holidays and Beyond

Posted on Updated on

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

Check out my latest book: M.U.S.C.L.E.-The Cheatin’ Security Guard

Before I began Jiu-Jitsu 365, I rarely ever practiced Jiu-jitsu outside of the academies where I trained. However, now that I have made it an everyday habit, I have acquired a number of grappling specific drills and exercises that I can perform.

Since there are so many solo grappling drills I won’t list them here. I will list the warm-ups, stretching and heavy-bag drills. Here are my meager offerings. Feel free to chime in:

Warm-ups: Forward, backward and side rolls. Bridges (neck) and upas to the side and backwards. Judo pushups, Hindu squats, burpees and shrimping….

Stretches: Butterfly stretch, Hero’s pose, cat stretch, hamstring, calf-stretch, “bridge back stretch,” side and forward splits…. (All of these can be found on YouTube.)

Heavy Bag drills: positioning drills such as side mount, full mount, north-south, armbar exercises, knee on belly, guard, butterfly guard presses, sweeps, body slams, takedowns from knees…

Enjoy…

Other exercises

2 thoughts on “Solo Exercises – Over the Holidays and Beyond

    dave said:
    December 21, 2007 at 11:32 am

    hello.
    i recently signed up for wireless internet service and as a gift i got a 75 dollar web certificate. i used this cert to get a copy of “Ginastica Natural For Fighters” by Alvaro Romano. i have been using this to warm up – it’s pretty good. check it out when you get the chance – you will find links for it on youtube. hopefully soon i will have a chance to post some of the video up there.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    December 22, 2007 at 9:08 am

    Hello Dave,

    That is a pretty good deal for signing up for wireless service. All I received was the bill.

    Thanks for the tip. I will check it out.

Leave a Reply

