Day: December 12, 2007

Punches, Kicks & Sprawls: Class Update

Posted on Updated on

Last night was a barn burner, at least to me. We have a couple of guys who will be fighting in January so some of the drills are becoming more MMA specific. We focused on punches and kicks for about an hour before we switched to grappling. As I used to box a little, I understand the stamina that is needed for these kind of sessions and I do not possess it. We had 4, 4 minute rounds of boxing with sprawls interspersed throughout and then 100 kicks with sprawls included. I know that 100 kicks is not a lot to guys who train in MMA or some other martial art, but to someone who has not kicked that much in years, it was taxing.

I didn’t use hand wraps and my knuckles are sore. I have made a mental note to bring them next time or either I will have to punch lightly.

After the striking, we worked on a flow drill. It consisted of the top guy being in guard,  then breaking guard to capture kesa-gatame, then side mount, knee on belly to full mount, then an armbar. The guy getting armbarred then rolls to escape, then captures side mount. After that the guy mounted will obtain guard and the drill starts all over again. Our instructor stated that the purpose of this drill is so that we can learn to think four to five moves ahead of our opponent. While they are thinking about the next move, we should be well ahead of them.

Good stuff….

WEC Tonight! Faber, Pulver & Filho are my Predictions…

Posted on Updated on

You know, at first I was excited about the WEC. Then very quickly they (Zuffa) fell into a pattern of promoting and showing old shows continuously. It was almost as bad the PRIDE highlights on FOX or the repeated showings of the IFL. Eventually I stopped checking for new shows.

But now since that time has passed and the layoff is over, I find myself getting pretty hyped up for tonight’s event. Some unexpected character development has taken place along the way. The WEC has done a good job of promoting this night of fights. Previously, I was only excited about watching Faber fight again. A lot of people give him grief, however, as a KOTC fan I saw many of Faber’s previous fights. The WEC title is just a little recognition that he has longed deserved. His opponent Jeff Curran is no slouch as well and he has improved considerably since his fight with Matt Serra a couple of years ago.

I am also looking foward to seeing Paulo Filho and Chael Sonnen fight. I still think Filho is an unproven fighter, even though he made a small splash in PRIDE. I think Sonnen can test his mettle a little better than Joe Doerksen did. I also want to see Cub Swanson and Jens Pulver lock horns. Once again I am rooting for the veteran. Pulver should be able to pull this one out.  Swanson, another KOTC veteran, has not faced the same level or quality opponents that Pulver has.  Ultimately, this should be an exciting night of fights….

Check out my new books, The Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and Grappling for Newbies on Amazon.com!