Day: December 8, 2007

Proper Grappling Ettiquette

Posted on Updated on

This Thursday, I watched an episode of “Fraiser.” The main character, Dr. Fraiser Crane, kept getting preturbed because everywhere he went, he displayed politeness and civility while his fellow Seattle citizens did not return the favor. Frasier hit a boiling point when he and his brother, Niles, had a table they were waiting for in their favorite coffee shop, snatched away by another patron. Frasier argued briefly with the man before he blew his top and told him, “Sir, you need an etiquette lesson.”

He then hoisted the man from his chair and tossed him out of the cafe….

Anything physical reminds me of Jiu-jitsu and soon my thoughts drifted to what is or isn’t acceptable when grappling with another person in a Jiu-jitsu class or even a competition.

My main thoughts deal with what is the acceptable use of hands, forearms and elbows when you are on top and in someone else’s guard. Over the few years that I have been involved in grappling I have had people cover my nose with their hand, place their hands around my neck, place their forearms on my throat, push on my forehead, jaws and chin and many other techniques. For the most part I have always thought those were acceptable moves, but some of them are very questionable.

Personally, I don’t place my hands around people’s necks as if I am choking them. I don’t place my hands over their nose or eyes and I don’t place my forearms on their jaws. However, I do place an occasional forearm to the neck; use my hands to push on the forehead and jaw to control the head and probably do a few other moves which might be considered questionable. However, when I apply these sort of techniques it is always just to apply enough pressure to distract my opponent or to get them to let go of a certain hold.

I can remember a guy that I used to grapple with in my first academy who used these type of techniques as a tool to get people to tap out. It was a little irritating, but I figured that this was how bullies or people in the “real world” would try to manhandle you if they got the chance, so it’s better to learn how to defend it in class.

What are your thoughts…..?

Nominated for Best BJJ Blog by The FightWorks Podcast

Posted on Updated on

I was honored to receive this email from Caleb at “The FightWorks Podcast” tonight. 

“Your site has been nominated as one of the best BJJ blogs of 2007! Just a heads up that you might want to let your readers know to come on over and vote at:

http://thefightworkspodcast.com/2007/12/03/submit-your-vote-for-the-best-bjj-blogs-of-2007/ “

I appreciate the nod and if you guys agree then I’d appreciate your support.