Day: December 7, 2007

MMA, Jiu-Jitsu and Family Relationships

Posted on Updated on

The Ultimate Fighter finale will be taking place tomorrow from 9 to 12 PM. However, I will not be watching as Saturday will be my wedding anniversary. I will be spending a lovely weekend with my wife so I will probably not watch the event until late Sunday or Monday. This post is not about how I wish I could be home to watch it because the TUF finale can wait. However, last night I did check my DVR to make sure that the event was in the queue to be recorded and all “systems are go.”

Due to my work schedule and the distance I have to travel to work and then to Jiu-jitsu class, my evenings out don’t end until 10:30 or 11 PM on those nights. In addition, home, work and Jiu-jitsu class are in three different cities so it is sometimes a strain to train. I usually log 130 or more miles on those days. Trying to find quality time is rough on these days, especiallly since my wife is also a professional and is usually out of it when I come home.

I have come to realize how important it is to spend time with her and with family and friends. So even though I am a grappling fanatic, I am also a family fanatic and believe in balance.

Another thing that I always think about is that even though my class meets only twice a week and its 30 miles away in another city, it is great that it is even that close. I make sure that I take advantage of it, because I remember the angst I felt when I couldn’t find a place to train.  I envy the people who live in cities with acadamies that meet six times a week and that offer morning, noon and evening classes. However, as we are moving next year to one of those cities, I also realize that I have to train here as much as I can so I will be ready when we make that transition.

When I lived in Florida, the academy I used to train in met three times a week. I let work and other events interfere with my full participation. However, when I moved to Georgia and I had no place to train I regretted missing all of those three nights a week sessions in FL.

As in Jiu-jitsu and with family and life we have to take advantage of the opportunities we have…