Day: December 3, 2007

Getting up from the Ground

Posted on Updated on

One aspect of my approach to Jiu-jitsu is to always concentrate on my weaknesses. As a relatively big guy, 6ft & 225lbs (not all of it muscle), I am often able to establish a dominant position if I really want to.  However, this doesn’t mean that I don’t often end up on my back or in bad positions. Therefore, learning how to defend myself in these positions is important to me.

One of the skills that I work on is how to get up properly if I find myself on the wrong end of a takedown or if my opponent suddenly disengages from me on the ground and stands up. The first move on the video above demonstrates the most common way that you can get up from the ground. It is useful for both grappling and self defense. The rest of the moves are very useful for grappling situations…..