Solo Drills Improved my Jiu-Jitsu Game

Posted on Updated on

Check out my grappling books on Amazon: Grappling Games: BJJ & Submission WrestlersTapmonster: Ideas about Grappling for BJJ and Submission WrestlersGrappling for Newbies20 Ways to Increase Grappling Skills off the MatThe Lazy Man’s Guide to Grappling and much more.

Wow! The drills that I have been doing in anticipation of class tonight paid off. I was able to pull off a butterfly guard sweep and had many near sweeps. I was also able to halfway implement the mount escapes that I have been working on for the past few days.

In the brief time between classes I was able to add elements to my game without live partners. Although I spent much of the night having my butterfly guard passed and having my sparring buddies gain side control, I was able to see definite improvements.

When I pulled off the butterfly sweep it felt like magic. Also I felt good when I was able to effectively offer resistance when mounted. Instead of stalling and waiting for the top guy to make his move before trying to escape, I began to shrimp and work different techniques in order to work my way back to guard. I proved to myself that solo drills (with video instruction) do help.

Oh yeah: My academy said they will soon be offering classes 5 nights a week. So I looking forward to that happening….

Note* My new Jiu-Jitsu gym bag also came in handy. I was able to bring in more items and not have them strewn all over the floor.

You can also check out my writings and research at Psychology Today: Communication Central

6 thoughts on “Solo Drills Improved my Jiu-Jitsu Game

    Woody said:
    December 27, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    Hi! What’s your solo drill routine? How long did it take daily? How many reps, etc? That’s a great idea! Thanks!

      jiujitsu365 said:
      January 1, 2010 at 3:31 pm

      Hello Woody,

      My routine has varied over the past two years since I first wrote this post. I am in no hurry when I drill and I am usually watching a DVD or youtube video as I review technique so it could be anywhere from 10 minutes to an hour. I usually review a throwing technique, a foot sweep, a turtle escape, side control escape, mount escape, guard passes, submissions, etc.

      Nowadays, I also make sure that I practice on both sides to make sure I am ambidextrous when I roll. I used to just practice on my right side and that leads to limited options. So I won’t get bored I now only practice each technique in the sequence 10 times. Five times to the right and five times to the left.

      Solo drills really help when I am unable to attend class regularly. I find that I never really get rusty and often I am able to execute a new technique. I once had a month layoff from class due to work but practiced at home and when I returned one of my instructors said, “That month layoff did you some good. I may need to take a month off.”

        Chris said:
        April 12, 2010 at 12:12 pm

        I’ve been practicing Jiu Jitsu at Eddie Bravo’s 10th planet headquarters in Hollywood for about 2 months, and your blog has inspired me to incorporate drills into my daily routine.

        I was wondering what your home practice setup is? Do you have a grappling dummy, or do you just visualize the opponent as you rep the techniques? What do you put down on the floor to practice on? Did you buy a personal sized mat of some sort?

        Thanks.

    jiujitsu365 said:
    April 14, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Thanks Chris,

    I drill in almost all of the open spaces in my house (to my wife’s dismay). I have a heavy bag (60 lbs) that I use to practice proper side control, mounts, transitions to north south, etc. I also use the heavy bag to simulate opponents in guard (This requires a lot of imagination, but it is useful).

    I don’t use mats, since the house is carpeted. However, sometimes I will use a pillow or two if I need to practice a step in drill for a double or single leg. I took Judo for a while so I can fall on carpet or hard ground without injuring myself as long as I go slowly.

    Visualization and physically going through the motions is my best training method outside of class though. I go through the motions while imagining the opponents as best as I can. Some drills work better than others.

    I can tell you that I have tapped many people using techniques that I have practiced exclusively at home. I look at it as the same as when you practice tennis on a wall, basketball alone or shadow box. You still are learning technique and most champions never have people who always want to train with them. If so they wouldn’t be champions (or it would be much more difficult) because everyone would have the same level of motivation and training. (That’s my thinking on the matter.)

    Good luck with your training…

    Jay@SportoBoots said:
    August 19, 2011 at 7:25 am

    Great reply and great post, thanks. I do basic sit throughs and stuff when im at the gym but need to work more specific drills, like you say the butterly sweep one for example.

    custom mouth guard bruxism said:
    March 10, 2014 at 2:01 pm

    Asking questions are really fastidious thing if you are not understanding something completely,
    except this article presents fastidious understanding yet.

Leave a Reply

